losacover.blogg.se

Elvis costello tell me why i don't hate mondays song
Elvis costello tell me why i don't hate mondays song









The song was recorded quickly bassist Bruce Thomas recalled, "We literally did the best tracks on -" Pump It Up", "Chelsea"-in one afternoon. It stood for both the groovy past and was reported in the papers as the hot-bed of the new punk ferment". Now Chelsea seemed even more of an unattainable neighborhood. Costello was also inspired by trips he had taken with his father to Chelsea in his youth Costello explained, "I'd gone with my Dad to a few of the more enduring clothing haunts of Chelsea on a rare outing together. Lyrically, the song was influenced partially by "a late run of '60s films set in London on the BBC" that Costello had been watching at the time. Once everyone else had gone home and I was alone in the otherwise darkened building, with just the hum and chatter of the computer terminal and the far-off light of a coffee machine next to the stairwell where murderers lurked, I wrote '(I Don't Want to Go to) Chelsea'.

elvis costello tell me why i don elvis costello tell me why i don

Costello recalled the night he wrote the song:Įarly one morning, I snuck my guitar into the office, as I knew I'd be working late into the night. "(I Don't Want to Go to) Chelsea" was written by Costello in the mid-1970s while working as a computer programmer. The song has since received positive reception from critics and remains a staple of Costello's live set. The release was accompanied by a music video. "Chelsea" was released as the debut single from This Year's Model, reaching number 16 in the UK and charting in other countries. Musically the song featured influence from bands such as the Who and the Kinks and is notable for Bruce Thomas's prominent bassline. Written by Costello while working as a computer programmer, the song was lyrically inspired by films Costello had been watching as well as childhood trips to Chelsea. The song appeared on Costello's 1978 second album, This Year's Model.

elvis costello tell me why i don

" (I Don't Want to Go to) Chelsea" is a song written by new wave musician Elvis Costello and recorded by Costello with his backing band the Attractions.

elvis costello tell me why i don

Single by Elvis Costello and the Attractions 1978 single by Elvis Costello and the Attractions "(I Don't Want to Go to) Chelsea"











Elvis costello tell me why i don't hate mondays song